source
AP

Facebook says that
30 million accounts were compromised in a major hack
– down
from the 50 million accounts the social network had first
estimated, but still not great news.

Although
Facebook took steps in light of the attack
to protect users,
the company has revealed that hackers had access to millions of
people’s personal information.

For 14 million people, hackers could access an abundance of user
data: name, email, phone number, hometown, current city,
workplace, birthday, devices used to log into Facebook, the last
10 places they checked into or were tagged in, and their 15 most
recent searches.

With so much sensitive data compromised, you may want to see if
yours was taken – and take action to prevent it from ever
happening again.

Here’s how to check if whether your information was
compromised, and how to delete your account:


Visit your Facebook Help Center to scroll down to where it says, “Is my Facebook account impacted by this security issue?”

source
Facebook / Business Insider

The most immediate way to check if your account was affected is
to visit your
Facebook Help Center
. Underneath all the latest updates on
the hack will be a section titled, “Is my Facebook account
impacted by this security issue?”

The message here will differ depending on how you were affected.
The message will list off which of your information was accessed.

If you were not affected, the message that appears will read:
“Our investigation is still ongoing, but based on what
we’ve learned so far, the attackers did not gain access to
information associated with your Facebook account.”

READ  Southern California community rocked by Nazi-saluting images - NBC News


Facebook plans to send customized messages to the 30 million affected accounts in “coming days” with steps on how to protect themselves.

caption
Examples of the customized messages Facebook plans to send out.
source
Facebook

Users who were affected will get a message in the coming days,
Facebook says. The message will include information on what
people can do to best protect themselves from suspicious emails,
text messages, and calls.


Delete your account to remove all your info — but it won’t actually be gone until after a 30-day “grace period.”

source
Facebook

By deleting your account, you will actually remove your personal
information from Facebook’s servers. This will
delete everything you’ve ever put on Facebook
– profile
information, photos, status updates, timeline posts – but won’t
include messages sent via Facebook Messenger.

However, it will take a whole 30 days for your account to
actually be deleted after you’ve requested it be
removed.. This
“grace period” used to be 14 days
, but it was reported last
week that Facebook raised it to a month. This gives users an
opportunity to re-activate their account if they get cold feet
before making it permanent.

If you don’t want to lose everything you’ve put on Facebook,
there is an option to download a copy of all your information.
You have to request this archive before deleting your account,
and you’ll have it sent to you via email. If you delete your
account before you request this archive, you’re out of
luck, so be careful.





READ SOURCE

WHAT YOUR THOUGHTS

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here