technology

How to delete your Snapchat account


If Snapchat is no longer for you, it’s possible to delete your account permanently. (Pictures: Snapchat/Mateusz Slodkowski/SOPA Images/LightRocket via Getty)

It’s probably safe to say that, in the ebb and flow of social media, many users fall in and out of love with different apps all the time, and Snapchat is no different.

However, plenty of people still use the app to share messages and pictures with friends and family.

To keep users engaged, the platform recently added some additional features, including Snapchat Spotlight.

While the temporary picture sharing app has continued to enjoy quite a lot of worldwide popularity, everything has its time.

If you’ve decided to remove it from your social media, here are the steps you can take.

How to delete your Snapchat account

If you wish to delete your Snapchat account from a browser or android, simply head to the accounts page and put in the details username (or email) and password of the account you would like to delete.

You can then select the ‘delete my account’ option.

If you’re looking to delete your Snapchat from within the iOS app, then you can take the following steps:

  1. Click on your account on the top left hand of the screen
  2. Tap the settings button (which appears as a little gear) on the profile screen.
  3. Scroll down and select Account Actions
  4. Select ‘Delete account’
  5. Follow the remaining prompts to delete your Snapchat account
You can delete your app through the settings (Picture: Snapchat)
You will need to input your log in details (Picture: Snapchat)

However you opt to delete your account; once you’ve confirmed it for deletion, your account will enter a 30-day deactivation period.

During this time, no one will be able to contact you via the app. Still, you will be able to log in and reactivate it if you change your mind about the permanent deletion.

It’s important to remember that you will only be able to sign in using your username and not your email address during this time, so make sure you make a note of this.

Deleting your account will mean the permanent removal of the following data:

  • Account
  • Account settings
  • Friends
  • Snaps
  • Chats
  • Story
  • Device data
  • Location data

However, Snapchat states that they may ‘retain some personal information for certain business, legal or security reasons.

‘For example, we’ll keep information about any purchases you’ve made through Snapchat, and when you agreed to our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy.’


MORE :
How to pin a conversation on Snapchat


MORE : How to change your username on Snapchat

Follow Metro across our social channels, on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram

Share your views in the comments below





READ SOURCE

Leave a Reply

This website uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you accept our use of cookies.