LCAA WRESTLING CHAMPIONSHIPS: Local grapplers earn LCAA titles | Sports | thedailynewsonline.com – The Daily News Online

GAINSEVILLE — Livonia/Wayland-Cohocton captured the 65th Annual Livingston Conference Wrestling Championships Saturday held at Letchworth High School.

LWC had three individual champions including Matthew Connor (132), Noah Magin (189) and Alex Ott (285).

The senior Connor defeated Warsaw’s Justin Baker by a 10-2 major decision for his second straight title.

Magin pinned Avon/Geneseo’s Bryce Chambers in 3:22 while Ott grinded out a 5-2 decision over Hornell’s Dominic Lockwood to earn their crowns.

Livonia/Wayland-Cohocton won the title with 159 1/2 points while Le Roy was second (110 1/2) and Bath Haverling third (99 1/2).

Letchworth (96), Perry (94), and Hornell (93) rounded out the top six.

Perry had two individual champs as Noah Leitten (118) and Trenten True (138) both won crowns.

Leitten pinned Dansville’s Logan Kendall in 2:20 in his title bout while True earned a 7-4 decision over Avon/Geneseo grappler Cameron King in his title match.

Letchworth also had two individual champions as Alan Gray (102) and Ryleigh Duryee (152) earned championships.

It took Gray only 46 seconds to pin Le Roy’s Dawson Wojtaszczyk in his title match while Duryee earned a hard-fought 3-1 victory over Cal-Mum’s Garret Thompson in his title match.

Le Roy and Warsaw had one champion apiece.

Brock Flint earned the 145-pound title for the Oatkan Knights with his 8-3 victory over Avon/Geneseo’s Hunter Rumfola.

Warsaw’s Connor Hare took home the 215-pound title when he pinned LWC’s Hunter Battoglia in 3:51.

Bath-Haverling’s Austin Thorius was named the tournament’s MOW as he earned the 172-pound title with his impressive 17-1 tech fall victory over Perry’s Alex West.

Teammate Gage Thomas also won a title for the Rams earning the 110-pound crown with his pin over LWC’s Myles Jarzyna in 3:45.

Hornell’s Mason Drew captured the 126-pound title for the Red Raiders and needed just 42 seconds to do so as he pinned Letchworth’s Derek Smith in his title match.

Prior to Saturday’s finals, LCAA wrestling chairman Andy Englert inducted two former LCAA champions into the LCAA Wrestling Hall of Fame including Jeff Royce (Warsaw) and Brian Davis (Le Roy).

Davis was a two-time LCAA champion back in 1995-96 and a three-time sectional runner-up (94, 95, 96),

Royce has been a huge influencer on LCAA wrestling the past 30-plus years both on the mats and coaching.

He was a three-time sectional champion and a two-time LCAA champ. As an assistant coach for Warsaw. Royce coached 82 LCAA champions, 74 sectional winners, 41 state reps and nine NYS champions.


Leave a Reply

This website uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you accept our use of cookies.