science

SpaceX UK launch time: How to watch the historic SpaceX Dragon launch to the ISS?


The launch is pencilled in for later today (Wednesday, May 27) and will see astronauts launch into orbit from US soil for the first time in nine years. Since the end of the Space Shuttle programme in 2011, NASA has pursued commercial partners to return manned spaceflight to America. Today, astronauts Bob Behnken and Doug Hurley will break ground as they blast off on a SpaceX Falcon 9 and Crew Dragon capsule.

Kennedy Space Center Director Bob Cabana said on Tuesday: “I don’t have to tell you all how exciting it is to have the first flight of humans to space from the Kennedy Space Center in nine years.”

NASA Administrator Jim Bridenstine said: “It’s been nine years since we’ve had this opportunity.

“And Bob Cabana, we want to thank you for all the great work you’ve done getting us up to this point, getting the Kennedy Space Center ready.

“Everything is looking good. As of right now, we are ‘go’ for launch.”

READ MORE: Richard Branson’s Virgin Orbit rocket launch fails in attempt

SpaceX UK launch time: When is the SpaceX launch?

Weather permitting, the SpaceX launch has been given the green light to launch on Wednesday, May 27.

SpaceX tweeted on Tuesday: “Falcon 9 and Crew Dragon will lift off from Launch Complex 39A – the same place Saturn V launched humanity to the Moon and from where the first and final Space Shuttle missions lifted off.”

The launch is scheduled for 9.33pm BST (4.33pm EDT, 1.33pm PDT) today.

A backup launch window is avaiable on Saturday, May 30, at 8.22pm BST (3.22pm EDT, 12.22pm PDT).

How to watch the SpaceX launch in the UK:

SpaceX coverage of the historic flight will begin about four hours before liftoff.

You will be able to watch it live as it unfolds here on Express.co.uk in the embedded video player above, courtesy of NASA and SpaceX.

All NASA launches are broadcast live on NASA TV – the US space agency’s round-the-clock educational broadcasting.

SpaceX is also expected to broadcast the launch live online on its website and on YouTube.

NASA said: “Tune in starting at 12.15pm EDT as NASA and SpaceX provide joint, live coverage from launch to arrival at the space station.

“Teams are targeting 4.33pm EDT for the launch of the SpaceX Crew Dragon spacecraft atop a Falcon 9 rocket from historic Launch Complex 39A at NASA’s Kennedy Space Center in Florida.

“The Crew Dragon is scheduled to dock to the space station at 11.29am Thursday, May 28.”

Today, SpaceX will enter the final stages of testing its Crew Dragon capsule.

SpaceX said: “Demo-2 is the final major test for SpaceX’s human spaceflight system to be certified by NASA for operational crew missions to and from the International Space Station.

“SpaceX is returning human spaceflight to the United States with one of the safest, most advanced systems ever built, and NASA’s Commercial Crew Program is a turning point for America’s future in space exploration that lays the groundwork for future missions to the Moon, Mars, and beyond.”

On Monday, Commercial Crew chief Kathy Lueders said “all teams are go” for launch.

SpaceX launch countdown:

-45:00 – SpaceX launch director verifies go for fuel propellant.

-42:00 – Crew access arm retracts.

-37:00 – Dragon’s launch escape system is armed.

-35:00 – RP-1 rocket grade kerosene loading begins.

-35:00 – First stage liquid oxygen loading begins.

-16:00 – Second stage liquid oxygen loading begins.

-07:00 – Falcon 9 begins engine chill prior to launch.

-05:00 – Dragon transitions to internal power.

-01:00 – Command flight to begin final prelaunch checks.

-01:00 – Propellant tank pressurisation to flight pressure begins.

-00:45 – SpaceX launch director verifies go for launch.

-00:03 – Engine controller commands engine ignition sequence to start.

-00:00 – Falcon 9 liftoff.



READ SOURCE

Leave a Reply